First Woman Elected Chair of American College of Radiology

The ACR Board of Chancellors has elected Geraldine McGinty, MD, MBA, FACR, as chair. McGinty is the first woman elected chair of the board in the nearly 100-year history of the ACR. Also elected were Howard B. Fleishon, MD, MMM, FACR, who will serve as vice chair; James A. Brink, MD, FACR, who will serve as president; and Marta Hernanz-Schulman, MD, FACR, FAAP, who will serve as vice president. The new officers took office at the ACR 2018 Annual Meeting held in Washington, D.C.

"Dr. McGinty is a renowned expert in health care strategy and economics. She has shown outstanding leadership in every ACR role in which she has served and is a tremendous choice to lead radiology as health care delivery and payment systems evolve from volume- to value-based care," says ACR CEO William T. Thorwarth, MD, FACR.

ACR Officers

Chair — Geraldine McGinty, MD, MBA, FACR
McGinty was nominated by the Board of Chancellors Nominating Committee and elected by the board as chair. She has served the last two years as vice chair of the Board of Chancellors. McGinty previously served as chair of the ACR Commission on Economics and is an editorial board member and reviewer for the Journal of the American College of Radiology (JACR). She is a leader of the College's Imaging 3.0 efforts to ensure that radiologists enhance their visibility in patient-centered care and are prepared to function effectively in emerging alternate payment models and value-based payment systems. McGinty has also served as the ACR representative to the American Medical Association Relative Value Scale Update Committee. She is the 2018 recipient of the William T. Thorwarth, Jr., MD, Award, which recognizes individuals who demonstrate outstanding contributions to the field of health policy and economics for radiology. She is a practicing radiologist in New York City and a faculty member at Weill Cornell Medicine, where she serves as the chief strategy officer and chief contracting officer for the Weill Cornell Physician Organization.

Vice Chair — Howard B. Fleishon, MD, MMM, FACR
Fleishon was nominated by the Board Nominating Committee and elected by the Board of Chancellors as vice chair. He has held numerous roles within the ACR, including secretary-treasurer, council speaker, vice chair of the Commission on Government Relations, and founder and former chair of the Radiology Advocacy Network. Fleishon is currently chair of the ACR Foundation executive committee. He serves as chief of radiology services at Emory Johns Creek Hospital in Johns Creek, Georgia, and division director of community radiology services at the Emory department of radiology and imaging services in Atlanta.

President — James A. Brink, MD, FACR
Brink was nominated by the College Nominating Committee and elected ACR president by the Council. He is radiologist-in-chief at Massachusetts General Hospital and the Juan M. Taveras Professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School, both in Boston. Brink is the immediate past chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors. He is an internationally recognized expert in radiation safety. Brink was instrumental in developing the ACR/RSNA Image Wisely program. He is a past chair of the ACR Commission on Body Imaging, past cochair of Image Wisely and serves on the JACR editorial board.

Vice President — Marta Hernanz Schulman, MD, FACR, FAAP
Schulman was nominated by the College Nominating Committee and elected vice president by the Council. She is a professor of radiology and pediatrics, radiology vice chair for pediatrics, chief of pediatric radiology, and medical director of diagnostic imaging at the Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt in Nashville. Schulman is past president and board chair of the Society for Pediatric Radiology and has served in and chaired multiple ACR committees, most recently the ACR Pediatric Imaging Commission, and serves on the Image Gently Alliance Steering Committee.

— Source: ACR